Recent/Upcoming Events

Keep an eye on the upcoming events. There's always something that you'll be interested in!

View all our events! >>
Ray Community Centre
Official Opening 25th August 2012

Last updated: 21/03/2011

August 2012

The Official Opening of Ray Community Centre

It was a very proud day on Saturday last when the people of Ray, Glenalla and the surrounding areas came together in glorious sunshine to attend the opening of the new Ray Community Centre. The attendees consisted of people ranging in ages form newborns to people in their 80's. The official opening was conducted by Jim Slevin, Chairman of the Donegal Local Develoment Company and other speakers on the day were Antoinette Mc Fadden, Secretary Ray Community Group, Fiona Boyle Chairperson Ray Community Group and Noel Mc Bride, Chairperson Letterkenny Electoral Area County Council. Jim Slevin in his address informed the crowd that the Ray Community Group have also been successful in their application for further funding to install kitchen facilities, a lift and signage at Ray Community Centre. Following the opening ceremony there was also a blessing of the Ray Community Centre by Rev Amanda Best, Rev Janice Brown and Fr Martin Collum.

Thanks to everyone who helped make the day such a success and the feedback about the new centre is very positive. Special thanks to Paul Deeney for doing the video and James Sandilands for providing the music and amplification for the day.

There was a Raffle and the following are the list of prizes, sponsors and winners and a special word of thanks to all the sponsors and we would appreciate if you would show your support by using them.

Mc Cormick’s Pharmacy Milford, voucher €50 Philomena Barrett

Beachcomber Bar, Meal for Two voucher for €40 Charlie Crerand

Water’s Edge Sunday Lunch for 2 voucher Ian Franklyn

The Travellers Inn Milford, voucher €30 Jon Boyle

Lennonside Butcher voucher €25 John Mc Ateer

Lennonside Butcher voucher €25 Monica Callaghan

Whoriskey’s Heating Oils, voucher €25 Angela Callaghan

Whoriskey’s Eurospar, voucher €25 Mark Begley

Lagg Service Station Petrol Voucher €20 Martina Sheridan

Mc Gettigan’s Butcher Milford voucher €20 Charlie Crerand

Bottle Vodka, Lennon Lodge Ramelton Peter Mc Ateer

Bottle of Rum, Francie Mc Fadden, Ray Nancy Friel

Kevin Mc Fadden, Ramelton, Occasional Lamp Byrne Norry

Fanad Fisheries, Salmon Voucher Doreen Patton (Delap)

Bottle of Whiskey, Mary Crerand Sarah Sheridan